The Olde Coach House has now opened 11 new deluxe luxury bedrooms in our converted stables, all individually designed with Porcelanosa bathrooms with rain shower power showers, heated towel rails, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. All the rooms are a modern and contemporary design with a traditional twist. To put a local stamp on the rooms we have named each one after a surrounding village except one which has been christened Guy Fawkes from a nod to Ashby St Ledgers history.
Set in the village of Ashby St.Ledger,the village lies on the A361 just off junction 18 of the M1 to the North of Daventry.The estate was mentioned as Ascebi (settlement with ash trees) in the Domesday Book of 1086. It was given by the Conqueror to Hugh de Grentemaisnil, a nobleman who came to England with him.In 1375 the estate came by marriage to the Catesby family. They owned it until 1611. In 1485 William Catesby fought for Richard III at the Battle of Bosworth Field. Richard was defeated and William was beheaded. The estate was confiscated, but later returned to Williams son, George.
In Elizabeth I time another William was gaoled for hiding Catholic priests. His son Robert was the leader of the Gunpowder plot of 1605, when Guy Fawkes tried to blow up King James and his Parliament. Robert died in a pistol fight after the plot was discovered.
The estate later came to l Ansons and then to the Ashleys and Senhouses. In 1903 Viscount Wimborne bought the Manor. He employed Sir Edwin Lutyens to do work on the house and in the village.
The Ashby St Ledgers estate made its money by selling produce from its farms. The home farm however, as on all large estates produced food only for the Manor House.
The orignal village pub was demolished to make room for the Lutyens cottages. For a while there was a club for estate workers, then a former farmhouse became the Olde Coach House.
Inside there is a collection of tools and utensils from a bygone age as well as open lof fireplaces that are always lit in the winter.
Experience comfortable and modern rooms alongside good food, good beer and wine and friendly service. Please book a table for the restaurant in advance, to avoid disappointment.
The Olde Coach House also boasts a charming rustic Bar with flagstone floors, low beams and open fires, a contemporary Restaurant and fantastic garden and Courtyard area.
M1 - Road: At junction 18, take the A428 exit to Daventry/A361 Ashby St Ledgers is sign-posted on the left hand side
You can check in from 17:30. You need to check out by 10:00.